Sarah nembhard
10 min readSep 3, 2022

--

IMAGE CREATED ON CANVA

This happened a couple of months back when I was shopping at Home Depot. I went there to look at some power tools for some projects around the house that I’ve been putting off for a long time. Whether on a Friday night because I wanted to get some work done on Saturday. When I got to the store, it was quiet and not many other people were there. I went to the power tool section and looked at a few of them. and compared some of the tools in their pricing. I was the only person in that area until a guy came into the aisle with me and started looking at something. He was at one end and I was at the other. I wasn’t really paying attention to him, but I knew he was there, and after he was there for about two or three minutes, I would say I saw him coming closer to me. I looked and he was approaching me. The man was really tall, probably 6–5, and wore a grey sweatshirt and ripped jeans. You look pretty young and have a kind of ugly beard. He said hi to me and I said hi back to the man. He then asked me if I could lend him some money. I apologised to the man, but no, and then decided to walk away. The guy cursed under his breath, and I went to another section of the store. It wasn’t until I walked away that I realised I had forgotten the tools, and I hadn’t even figured out which ones I was going to buy yet. But I didn’t want to turn around and go back to the man because of an awkward encounter. I decided to walk around and get some batteries, which I also needed, and then go back over and hope…

--

--